Sometime back, you may remember that I blogged about the Facebook ‘Error Check System’ malware. There are now new ones that have cropped up, and most disturbingly, they seem to be able to send messages just as if a friend is sending them. The message will usually consist of a single URL, asking you to visit it, and is usually sent to multiple (random) receipients at one time. Subject lines can be ‘Hello’ , or ‘Look at this’.

See the following screenshot, below:

facebook_scammsg

Screenshot from Facebook of how the various phishing scams spread

If you visit the URL (don’t!), it will lead you to a page that looks suspiciously like the Facebook login page - but isn’t:

facebook_scamsite

Scam site looks like this screenshot


The following sites are known scams
, according to various sources, including Mashable.com.

greenbuddy.be
silvertag.be
picoband.be
brunga.at
goldbase.be
araps.at
vispace.be
edbuddy.be
orangefan.be
mymarket.be
pinkamigo.be

DO NOT VISIT THE SITES ABOVE, AND BY ALL MEANS, DO NOT ENTER YOUR DETAILS.

Stay safe, people! And tell your friends too!



Reader's Comments

  1. Beware Spyware Facebook Application Called “Error Check System” » Josh Lim’s Adventures | May 25th, 2009 at 3:36 am

    [...] LATEST UPDATE: There appears to be a new phishing scam on Facebook, please check out this post too. [...]

  2. EVo | May 25th, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Crazy phishers. too free nothing to do man. so far didn’t get this kinda messages…make sure u report it dude.

    btw check out my post on star search n grab ur pics yo =)

    [Reply]

  3. Leona | May 25th, 2009 at 11:17 am

    yea i just received 2 of such messages this morning…jeez

    [Reply]

  4. kenwooi | May 25th, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Thank you for the Public Service Announcement, Boss. =)

    [Reply]

  5. LithiumMind | May 25th, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Thanks for the heads up :)

    [Reply]

  6. JustinH | May 25th, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I think it happen to me b4(cant remember when)
    but in an instant i knew its definately a scam =P

    [Reply]

  7. WayeYoung | May 26th, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Didn’t receive any… yet

    [Reply]

  8. Ashleyteng | May 26th, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    wow thanks for informing.

    btw josh i’ve featured u in 1 of my recent blog posts i hope u don’t mind xD

    [Reply]

  9. dragoncity | May 27th, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Thanks bro for sharing. I really don’t know about this.

    [Reply]

  10. EVo | May 27th, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Dude..! time to update! :D

    [Reply]

  11. Shixin | May 29th, 2009 at 12:47 am

    Hi Josh.

    [Reply]

  12. coco | May 30th, 2009 at 6:21 am

    waaa thx josh for the info~*

    [Reply]

  13. Awesome | April 16th, 2012 at 12:00 am

    I think it’s over now.

    [Reply]

Leave a Comment